Off the record week 6: Amanda’s picks

Off The Record is a weekly MUSE installment exploring the favorite music of the Daily Free Press editorial staff. Each week a different editor will pick their five favorite songs. Week six features our Photo Editor, Amanda Swinhart. Enjoy. 

FreeP Photo Editor Amanda Swinhart

Before I reveal my five “favorite” songs, I have to let you all know that I could easily fill each spot with a song by Modest Mouse (if it’s even possible to choose only five Modest Mouse songs). I say “favorite” because I really can’t narrow all the songs I love down to five, much less put them in order of favoriteness. So, I’ve chosen five songs of a mixture of stuff I’ve recently started listening to and stuff I’ve been listening to since I realized that what NSync (although masters of gelled hair and synchronized dance) created was not actually music.

“Kettering” – The Antlers

I heard this song for the first time a few days ago. It’s extremely sad but I can’t stop listening to it. It begins with soft piano and vocals, and then moves into this great build up. The lyrics are depressing as hell, too, but I can appreciate that.

“These Peoples Try to Fade Me” – Coach Z

The genius of one of the many Homestar Runner characters epitomized in a single rap. All I can say is “Where my lasers at, ya’ll?”

“Gravity Rides Everything” – Modest Mouse

Like I said, it is impossible to choose just five favorite songs. It is even more impossible to choose just one Modest Mouse song, but this particular one reminds me of when I first started listening to them. The album “The Moon and Antarctica” continues to be one of those albums I will never get sick of listening to.

“Next Girl” – The Black Keys

The Black Keys are in my opinion one of the only few true rock bands around today. I don’t think this band is capable of making a bad song. This one off their newest album has a really bluesy sound to it that I love. And of course, Dan Auerbach’s voice is amazing.

“Funeral Singers” – Califone

Like most Califone songs, the lyrics in this one make little to no sense, but the way Tim Rutili sings them is perfect. The sound of the acoustic guitar makes me wish I knew how to play one.

Leave a Reply

