Will you vote?

By Maya Devereaux, Staff Writer

Although Obama’s 2008 inauguration was almost four years ago, I will never forget sitting in my tenth grade biology class watching the event take place on live television. I have a sharp memory my classmates’ reactions: the boy to my left was staring on almost with tears in his eyes, the girl sitting to my right was sleeping with her head down on the desk.

These observations have frequently come to mind recently, whenever I hear talk about the election around campus. So this made me curious about students here at Boston University. What are their opinions on voting this upcoming November?

I spoke with various students across campus and found that many of them plan on voting. Of those who said they will not be voting, many gave reasons relating to eligibility.

“I’m not a citizen,” said College of Arts and Sciences freshman Kelly Chen, “maybe if I were, I would vote though.” Another popular answer involved not being of age in time to vote.

When asked about the reasons why some students vote for certain candidates, School of Management senior Jinelle Pecson said, “half of them are following the news and have legitimate reasons to vote for a candidate, while the other half goes with what the environment says.”

Aman Sharma, a sophomore in CAS, brought up a good point and said, “a majority of young people are swayed by their parents.”

But does who you affiliate yourself with always have a correlation with who your parents affiliate themselves with?

“The ones who know why they’re voting for their candidate of choice will definitely have a good reason for doing so,” said Benjamin Wildman, a CAS freshman.

Whether or not students have a reason for voting for a specific candidate, there is definitely a ton of awareness on campus about voting in the upcoming election. Students mention hearing many discussions about voting, even if it’s just over a joke about a certain candidate.

With 40 days until election day, the time left for registering to vote is dwindling down. As I anxiously await the arrival of my absentee ballot in the mail, I hope that many others across campus are, too.

Leave a Reply

