The Hurricane Sandy Playlist

By Lauren Dezenski, Online Editor

PHOTO COURTESY TODDHALE.COM

With all of this (legitimate) hype over the superstorm Frankenstorm Hurricane Sandy, it’s high time we prepare in every way, shape and form possible. Translation: make a playlist.

You’re welcome, Eastern Seaboard.

Ke$ha’s “Blow” starts things on the right foot–who doesn’t love Ke$ha, or better yet, the visual of that glittery betch getting blown away by the 65+ MPH wind gusts expected in Boston on Monday. Which brings me to the next song…

“Manic Monday” by the Bangles. If classes aren’t cancelled, you bet your bottom dollar shit’s gonna get real manic, especially for those girls’ hairdos undoubtedly mussed by Sandy’s gusts. Monday’s forecast: rainy with a 95 percent chance of topknots. I see you, COM girls.

Not to be forgotten: “Rock You Like a Hurricane.” I personally believe this song’s potential would only be improved by listening to this on the 26th floor of StuVi II as it sways in the wind. BECAUSE APPARENTLY THAT HAPPENS.

Other goodies: “Sandy” by John Travolta (sorry, I had to), “Neighborhood #3 (Power Out)” by the Arcade Fire (I just can’t quit those catchy indie Canadians, plus I live in Allston so my power probably will go out), “Hurricane Drunk” by Florence and the Machine (for those Halloweenies still hung over from this weekend’s festivities–not that I would know, I stayed in and watched The Weather Channel. I’m so cool, right?).

Things end with “The New Jersey Song,” a lil’ gem I encountered by searching “New Jersey” on Spotify, and ode to the Garden State’s position as essentially Sandy’s target as it swings westward and makes landfall on Monday evening. Here’s to hoping this weather event calms hostilities between the Real Housewives of New Jersey … and their implants float.

A man on The Weather Channel told me to put bags full of water in my freezer and now I’m telling you to listen to this playlist. When this randomly shuts off in the middle of you blasting it from the speakers in your apartment, it’ll be an epic way to realize you’ve lost power.

3 comments

  1. bucallison

    “Walking on Sunshine” by Katrina and the Waves. I mean….how ironic.
    By the way thanks for the post and playlist, I just nearly hyperventilated from laughing so hard.

  2. Pingback: Storm survival one snack at a time « The Daily Free Now
  3. Pingback: Six “Spooky, Scary” Songs to Haunt Your Halloween « BU Central

Leave a Reply

