Life Hacks: Staying Dry

By Shivani Patel, Staff Writer
@shizupates

PHOTO VIA flickr user Gray Catbird

If you’re not a raincoat person, there’s always ol’ faithful./PHOTO VIA flickr user Gray Catbird

My name is Shivani Patel and I am an awkward freshman.

In case you were wondering (you probably weren’t), I am a journalism major in COM, I’m 17 years old and I’m from Southern California (shout-out to the west coast a.k.a. the best coast).

Just like you, I too am slowly learning my way around this gigantic campus, but I’ll be telling you tips and various hacks to cheat the system and not be an awkward freshman (through my own various experiences – yay?)

Moving along, let me direct your attention to weather outside. Right now, it feels like 70 degrees fahrenheit. It’s nice and sunny. The other day, it was terrible and raining. Coming from a place where it rarely rained (let alone in September), I was definitely caught off guard. Through my miserable experiences, I’ve come up with a list of do’s and don’ts for not letting the rain ruin your day.

1. Do check the weather before you go out for the day.

It is important to not base your outfit based solely on what you see outside your window. First of all, we’re in Boston. I’m sure Bostonians already know this, but for those of you who aren’t, take the time to check the weather app on your phone or go to the Weather Channel. It’ll take a few seconds, and it might make the difference between you being warm and you having wet socks (personally, I prefer having dry socks).

2. Don’t run down Comm Ave. in the rain.

If you notice, buildings like CAS and STH take up a huge part of Comm Ave. Use this to your advantage! Instead of walking through the cold and rain, just take the closest door into the building you’re near and walk down towards your destination. Ta-da!

3. Do invest in a waterproof jacket.

I’ve done a bit of research for you all. When/If you do winter clothes shopping, you’ll notice that there are jackets that are “waterproof” or “water resistant.” Water resistant is for light rain (a.k.a. what we’ve been having) whereas waterproof will protect you from harsh rain (a.k.a. what you’ll be needing for the actual winter). I’d say get one of each so that you’re set for the year. Good brands to try are REI and North Face, which are pretty durable.

4. Don’t use a golf umbrella.

I’m sure all of you have noticed by now, but BU is a walking campus. This means we use the sidewalks. This means that if you have an umbrella that takes up half the sidewalk, you will cause a jam. Just do everyone a favor and get a smaller umbrella. Personally, I feel that umbrellas are a hassle, so if you have a good hood on a jacket, it should be fine. However, to each their own. Just keep in mind that there are other people walking on the sidewalk.

There we have it. If you have any other tips, feel free to comment below!

Stay dry, my friends.

Leave a Reply

