Lookin’ Sexy and Feelin’ Great: Introduction

By Erica Schwartz
@ericasalviati

The key to transformation is dedication./PHOTO VIA Erica Schwartz

I don’t believe in the freshman 15. When most people hear the words “chili-cheese fries” or even, BU ‘s favorite, “Insomnia Cookies”, they salivate and jump for the opportunity to indulge. When I hear those words, my immediate response is disgust, involuntarily bombarding me with memories of the days when I weighed 30 pounds heavier.

I decided, with writing a blog about health and fitness lifestyle, it would be best to start off explaining how much my life is actually devoted to it. In the past two months, I have successfully shed so much weight and, believe it or not, I’ve never felt so in control of my body.

The key tip? Dedication.

If you are actually interested in losing the weight yourself, feel free to email me whenever and I’ll give you specifics as to what I have done (I have turned into half of my floor mates’ personal trainer). But the main thing is that I have been recording my daily calorie intake, along with sticking to a limit on grams of fat, sugar, and carbohydrates. I work out six days a week, with a variation of kickboxing, yoga, Zumba, running and lifting weights. However, I am a prime witness that losing weight is 80 percent nutrition and only 20 percent fitness…eating like a psychotic hunger-crazed dinosaur will get you nowhere.

My biased opinion is that health and fitness should be a top priority in life. Since my transformation, I have never felt so alive and confident. Yes, you can still enjoy the occasional chocolate or shot of vodka (if you’re over 21, of course), but you have to learn to value your body and self.

7 comments

  1. marcelo BUCK bolognesi

    muito bem escrito, e parabens, ms do que ninguem eu sei oque significa este esforco …um beijo ENORME saudades Marcelo

  2. Victor Schwartz

    Wonderful blog post and I’m looking forward to following your future postings. And congratulations on losing that weight!!!!

  3. Gwen

    Losing 30 pounds in two months is not healthy, unless you weighed a lot before. Chances are you probably lost muscle mass in addition to some fat, but you would have had to be in the gym four hours a day and eating next to nothing. You should focus more on nutritious food that keeps you happy and healthy as opposed to cutting out whole food groups because that’s not sustainable for the future. Food is fuel, and you need energy to live.

  4. Erica Schwartz

    Actually Gwen, my personal trainer/ nutritionist measured me, along with my body fat percentage my first day starting and then compared it to just a month later, where I had already lost at least 10% body FAT, so get your facts straight…I exercise appropriately and eat very healthily, without any moments of feeling sick or weak or unhealthy, and I snack every two to three hours, so thanks for the concern but I know what I’m talking about.

  5. Gwen

    Considering a pound is 3500 calories and you lost 15 in the first month, you would have had to burn over 1700 calories a day. If you like to spend hours in the gym, that’s great but generally, that’s not always feasible for most people. Last year, I lost 15 pounds in about 4 months, going to a nutritionist and to the gym, so don’t think I don’t know what I’m talking about. I think your advice should be tailored toward helping people live a healthier lifestyle and if that means eating more than one fruit a day, so be it. You’re better off eating an entire mango, which has tons of vitamins and filling fiber, than a sugar-free Coke Zero.

Leave a Reply

