“An Interpretive Dance For My Boss Set to Kanye West’s Gone.”

By Devon Delfino, Staff Writer
@devondelfino

I’m pretty sure that everyone hates the typical, mind-numbingly dull nine to five; I know I did. For those of us who have had the pleasure of zoning out during a particularly boring day, thoughts easily wander into the fantasyland of quitting, about finally telling your boss that you hate everything that is your job.

That’s exactly what Marina Shifrin did in her now viral video entitled “An Interpretive Dance For My Boss Set To Kanye West’s Gone.”

Aside from the obvious hilarity of Shifrin’s idea to dance her way out of a job, watching the video evokes that classic scene in “Office Space” where the main characters attack the notoriously unreliable copy machine from their office with baseball bats (though with a far less violent approach).

Shifrin explains her reasoning in the description of the video, writing, “I work for an awesome company that makes news videos. I have put my life into this job, but my boss says quantity, speed and views are what is most important. I believe it’s more important to focus on the quality of the content. When you learn to improve this, the views will come. Here is a little video I made explaining my feelings.”

I don’t advise this particular method of quitting for everyone, at least not unless your video goes viral too; but there have been worse ideas conceived at 4:30 in the morning. In the end, you have to give her props for having the guts to take matters into her own hands and stand up for creative integrity. And then of course there’s her hilarious dancing.

To read more behind Shifrin’s idea click here.

Watch Shifrin dance below:

Leave a Reply

