The Beat: Country Music Playlist

By Kate Ebeling, Staff Writer
@kebbietot

As the Thanksgiving break quickly approaches, it seems like everyone I talk to has either gone home or experienced some serious homesickness.

October, like everyone warned me, was a very long and arduous month, and in my weakest moments, I turned to something that reminded me of home: good old country music.

As a Texas native, I can tell you that while Top 40 varies only slightly, there was always a Jason Aldean song, Toby Keith or, on a good day, George Strait track thrown into the mix.

For those who are not avid country music listeners I can relate, because before I came to Boston I wasn’t a huge fan. Not until I left and realized how much I appreciated my hometown of Houston did I really being to take a gander on the country genre that at times is trivialized as “songs about my momma, my truck, my beer, my girl.”

While I can’t really try and argue with that, I can attest to the fact that there is an easy-listening factor to country music is infectious and addictive and it’s hard to deny the feel-good factor it has.

For those willing to give country music a try, here’s a list of my top 10 songs to make any week a little better with a Spotify playlist:


10. My Maria – Brooks & Dunn

9. Cruise – Florida Georgia Line

8. On The Road Again – Willie Nelson

7. Gotta Get There – Brett Eldredge

6. Downtown – Lady Antebellum

5. Chicken Fried – Zac Brown Band

4. River Of Love – George Strait

3. Little Bit Of Everything – Keith Urban

2. Wagon Wheel – Darius Rucker

1. All Over The Road – Easton Corbin

Leave a Reply

