The Beauty of Dance: Versatility of Hip-Hop

By Shivani Patel, Staff Writer
@shizupates

By now, you all know me as the slightly-snarky freshman who writes about life advice for other students in the weekly column “Life Hacks.”

In the tradition of the New Year, I’m putting that column to rest. Who am I to give life advice? I’ve learned that I still need to learn a few things before I can properly advise the rest of you.

So in lieu of “Life Hacks,” I’m introducing a new column dedicated to another passion of mine – dance. In my new column I will be inducing to you, the reader, different styles of dance along with a fun video showing off the style.

In case you were wondering, I’ve been dancing for about eight years now. The style I’ve learned is Bollywood dance, which originates from India, but meshes both traditional and modern styles of dance. Out of all the types of dances I’ve tried, I still find it to be my favorite. I’m currently a part of BU Jalwa, a fusion dance team that gives me the opportunity to try other styles of dance.

But being a certain type of dancer shouldn’t stop you from enjoying other dance types.

Personally, I love to watch hip hop segments because moves can off start soft and fluid, and end up hard-hitting and in your face.

To illustrate hip-hop, I thought I’d introduce you all to one of my favorite dances of all time. This was performed by Jeanine Mason and Philip Chbeeb on the hit show “So You Think You Can Dance,” season five. I think one of the most interesting parts is that first they tell a story both through their moves and their faces. On top of that, hip hop isn’t Jeanine’s typical style.

Hopefully it’s apparent why this is one of my favorites. You can really see how much can (and usually does) go into a dance. Both of the dances add life to their characters, similar to the way an actor brings their assigned role alive.

Believe it or not, there is some math involved in pulling these killer dance moves off. Arms and legs have to be at the correct angle at the right time to produce the desired effect. The dancers add a certain charisma to the dance that pulls it all together. I can honestly watch this dance over and over again, and it never gets boring because there is always something new to discover about their mesmerizing form. 

Stay warm!

Leave a Reply

