In Biz: A semester in review

By Emily Overholt, Staff Writer
@EmilyOverholt

Exploring the merits of sleeping in v. actually going to class./ PHOTO via Emily Overholt

Exploring the merits of sleeping in v. actually going to class./ PHOTO via Emily Overholt

So here we are folks. One full semester of InBiz back in action. Are you proud? I’m proud. I thought for my final blog I’d take a stroll down memory lane with you through my weird business-like rants.

1. I talked about skipping class and what it costs you for tuition. This blog was 100 percent per my father’s request and definitely a criticism of my own habits. Although I am proud to say I have attended 99 percent of my classes this semester, a new all time high. Sure it took me almost all of college to get here, but it’s the thought that counts.

Why this post worked: I had to do math. It was relevant. I had to learn how to blog.
Why this post didn’t work: I had to do math. Ouch.

2. My first adventure into the listicle was inspired by trying to buy lottery tickets with convenience points. I learned that I have slightly more respect for Buzzfeed because being witty is hard. I also learned that Tumblrs that make gifs often have names we can’t publish. Way to go Tumbr.

Why this post worked: Listicles! Gifs! The constant lament that I can’t buy beer at the BU Pub with monopoly money!
Why it didn’t work: I’m not actually that funny. Sorry guys.

A "Game of Thrones" GIF for the listicle because, well, "Game of Thrones"./ GIF VIA reactiongifs.com

A “Game of Thrones” GIF for the listicle on finding a subletter because, well, “Game of Thrones”./ GIF VIA reactiongifs.com

3. In March I decided to complain about Slate complaining. I know, super meta. Sure, I may have thought of this blog by idly scrolling through Twitter and picking the first thing I could have an opinion on, but that doesn’t mean my strong feelings about Slate are any less real. Seriously, ask me about Slate some time. I have a lot of feelings.

Why it worked: I was forced to analyze other people’s convictions as well as look at how marketing works. In a lot of ways I had to think the most for this blog. Maybe Slate did win in the end.
Why it didn’t: Unless other people also noticed that Slate wouldn’t stop beating a dead horse, I probably was typing into the abyss.

4. And finally, my penultimate log was about Game of Thrones and finding subletters.

Why it worked: Game of Thrones
Why it didn’t: No one contacted me to sublet me apartment…

Thanks for InBizing with me!

Leave a Reply

